Association of Fundraising Professionals honors four Upstate philanthropists on National Philanthropy Day


On, Wednesday, the South Carolina Piedmont Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) honored four individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions to the Upstate’s philanthropic community in their celebration of National Philanthropy Day ®.

The 2017 National Philanthropy Day honorees include BMW Manufacturing as the Corporate Donor of the Year; Minor Shaw as the Individual Philanthropist of the Year; Kelly Byers as the Young Philanthropist of the Year; and Baxter Wynn as the Volunteer Fundraiser of the Year for their contributions and commitment to philanthropy in the Upstate.

In addition, each AFP member organization recognized their organization’s honorees in each category.
National Philanthropy Day is both an official day and a grassroots movement. Every year, since 1986 when President Ronald Reagan first proclaimed November 15th as National Philanthropy Day, communities across the globe have celebrated by hosting events to recognize activities of donors, volunteers, foundations, leaders, corporations, and others engaged in philanthropy.

About the Association of Fundraising Professionals:
The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) is the professional association of individuals and organizations that generate philanthropic support for a wide variety of charitable institutions. Founded in 1960, AFP advances philanthropy through its 33,000 members in more than 244 chapters throughout the world. AFP’s individual and organizational members raise over $115 billion annually, equivalent to one-third of all charitable giving in North America, and millions more around the world.

These articles are provided by our Upstate community and processed by our editorial team. The purpose is to notify our readers of timely information about people, places, events and announcements.

Comments are closed.